Below is a section of the Wyoming State Statutes that we believe apply to recording phone conversations. This information is not intended as a substitute for legal counsel.
From the Wyoming State Code
Wyo. Stat. § 7-3-702: It is legal for a party to a wire, oral or electronic communication to record that communication, and it is legal for anyone to record with the consent of one of the parties to a communication, unless the communication is intercepted to further a criminal or tortious purpose.
Under the statute, consent is not required for the taping of a non-electronic communication uttered by a person who does not have a reasonable expectation of privacy in that communication. See definition of "oral communication," Wyo. Stat. § 7-3-701.
Recording communications, or disclosing their contents with reason to believe they were obtained illegally, is a felony punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 and imprisonment for not more than five years. Violations also create the potential for civil liability for actual damages or $1,000 for each day of violation, whichever is more. Punitive damages, litigation costs and attorney fees can be recovered as well. Wyo. Stat. § 7-3-710.
It is always best to talk with an attorney if you have questions about the legal implications of recording calls in your state. We hope this information will serve as a general guide, and is not intended to substitute for expert legal counsel.