Below is a section of the Louisiana State Statutes that we believe apply to recording phone conversations. This information is not intended as a substitute for legal counsel.
From the Louisiana State Code
La. Rev. Stat. § 15:1303: Unless a criminal or tortious purpose exists, a person can record any conversations transmitted by wire, oral or electronic means to which he is a party, or when one participating party has consented. A violation of the law, whether by recording or disclosing the contents of a communication without proper consent, carries a fine of not more than $10,000 and jail time of not less than two and not more than 10 years at hard labor.
Civil damages are expressly authorized as well. Actual damages can be recovered — minimum damages in any case will be the greater of $100 a day for each day of violation or $1,000 — along with punitive damages, litigation costs and attorney fees. La. Rev. Stat. § 15:1312.
The use of any type of hidden camera to observe or record a person where that person has not consented is illegal if the recording "is for a lewd or lascivious purpose." La. Rev. Stat. § 14:283.
It is always best to talk with an attorney if you have questions about the legal implications of recording calls in your state. We hope this information will serve as a general guide, and is not intended to substitute for expert legal counsel.